The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacter

In the preceding argument, the author states that they ought to supply Ultraclean hand washing to all hospital system to prevent serious patient infection, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, he states a study indicates that using this hand washing produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than the liquid hand soaps. Secondly he boosts his case by stating that there is a hospital used UltraClean and reported fewer cases of patient infection. Therefore, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumption that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author readily states a laboratory study of liquid hand soaps and UltraClean hand soaps. In deed, several factors are elusive and intractable such as, what is type the of this study, is it representative enough to draw a conclusion? Plus, is the lab result precise enough. Perhaps the lab is not specialized or perhaps does not has tools to reflect the real condition. Further, what is the criteria they used to conclude this assumption. Thus, all these factors play a major role to extrapolate the results and in order to bolster his case he has to provide more information about the laboratory study methods and tools.

Furthermore, even there is a positive and concrete relation between using UltraClean and reduction the bacteria population to 40 percent. This, does not necessarily indicate a conspicuous relation between the two events. In other words, from where he concluded this result and how strong relation is. Perhaps the 40 percent reduction is not significant because we do not have any information about the real infection number to deiced whether is it reliable reduction or not. Or it might be the washing methods are different. In other words, some of them are washing their hands in right way while another they do not. In deed, building a decision depends on weak causation is not plausible and he has to present a real numbers that reflect the past and the present status.

Thirdly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in assuming that what hold true in one hospital will hold true with the other hospitals. In fact, he fails to state this assumption because the report did not mention any details about this hospital perhaps they are using another materials to mitigate patient infection or perhaps they are teaching them how to wash their hands or perhaps due to presence a strong infection control system. Hence, the assumption lack a depth of details that undermine the value of the argument and he has to explain and analysis the real situation to reflect and generalize the success.

All in all, the argument fails to provide one key factor. Namely, the all the previous assumptions are equivocal. Thus, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.