The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's argument to build a number of new dormitories to serve housing needs of students is backed by the claim that student's enrollment in college is growing. Also, author states that enrollment is expected to be doubled in next 5o years which in turn will lead to inadequate space. Furthermore, author states that student will find off-campus housing difficult as their rent has increased. The different points put by the author to support his argument, however, needs careful analysis and evidence in order to reach a concrete solution. There are several questions that first needs to be answered, then only it would be correct to judge the appropriateness of the author's argument.

First, author states that Buckingham's enrollment is growing and is expected to be doubled over the next 50 years. However, author doesn't mention anything about the percentage of increase in enrollment as compared to past years. Also, author doesn't mention that whether this trend of increasing enrollment is happening since many years or this increase is just for this year. So, unless we don't have proper evidence and statistics of number of enrollment over a past few years, it wouldn't be cogent to reach to any conclusion. Also, what happens after 50 years is also very dicey. It may happen that after few years some new college may open as a result of which number of enrollment of Buckingham College can decrease. So, simply predicting the number of enrollment in future and taking it as the basis of constructing more dormitories for students is not a very prudent decision.

Second, author simply equates the increased number of enrollment to more dormitories. It may be possible that most of the students have their family living in the same place where college reside. So, for them it actually doesn't matter if college provides dorm or not. Moreover, Author doesn't mention anything about the courses in which intake has increased. A college offers several types of courses, some of which are regular and needs student to attend classes every day, whereas, some are correspondence course which doesn't require student to be present all the time, except at the exams. ALso, students who generally opt for correspondence are the ones who are unable to attend classes regularly because they dwell in some different cities or because of some other reasons. So, for these students it won't matter, if, college has any dorm or not. So, only if author provides a proper evidence depicting that number of students who actually want a place to stay has increased, then only it will be wise to think about increasing the number of dormitories.

Additionally, author states that average rent of the appartment has increased but made no mention that whether this rise is for a particular year or the rents keep rising since few years. Also, author doesn't mention anything about the possibility of other options in the city where college students can stay like some Paying Guest, which can also provide space at less price. So, unless we are certain that students don't have any other options apart from Apartment and College dormitories we shouldn't make any assumptions.

In a nutshell, all the questions presented above needs to be addressed as the various claims provided by the author are rife with flaws. If the argument of author has included the above mentioned questions and their answers with evidences and statistics, it would have been more thorough and convincing.