The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's argument does not make a cogent case about building a number of new dormitories as it is rife with holes and assumptions.

To begin with, the author mentions based on trends, that the enrollment would double over the next 50 years. They, however, did not mention the current enrollment which is a deciding factor for whether the increase would be significant or not. For example, if the current number of students is hundred, it would be two-hundred after 50 years. This refutes the author's argument as arranging accommodation for merely two extra students each year would be no big feat.

The author also makes a bold assumption that the students are on a low budget. It is possible that the majority of their students come from affluent backgrounds and can easily afford off-campus housing, thus vacating dormitories for the students on a low budget.

Lastly, the author mentions that attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll. It seems as though the author thinks the lifestyle and courses offered at Buckingham aren't lucrative enough that the students decision would be swayed by the quality of the dormitories.

Therefore, while the need to construct new dormitories may arise, the author hasn't provided a plausible argument to do the same.