The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current

In this statement the director asserted that If new houses for students are built, the College enrollment will increase, claimed the reason that the domitries now are not adequate for the students duo to the uprising number of new students while the off-campus renting is increasing too. It is a good will that the director suggest to the Collge to offer new house to students, however, there are no ovbious relavance between the conclusion and reasons. From the conclusion there are many factors can make more erollments, while from the reasons there are obsecure justifications, which could not make clear whether there is the emergence of buliding new domitries.

Let's begin from the conclusion that the good will of more enrollment of new students. A college which is the place to teach students should take the quality of teaching at first place.

If the college is excellent at teaching and researching, I believe there will be more an more students want to apply for, and a new administration office with high-efficient and impassionate officials will be required instead of new domitries. The new domitries, however, just a peripheral selection which will birng some good impression to the new students. For the students who want to study well in a good college, the living conditon would not be the first thing he/she should consider.

As I concern, the director's putting the plan of building new houses prior to enhancing teaching quality is an arbitrary consideration. Whatever the college is , theaching quality is the most important to them.When the college is famous with good teachers and excellent students with high-education. The new bulding plan will make more sense then.

When talk about the new houses for students, let's discuss the claims from the direcotor who said the enrollment will double in 50 years due to the current now. It's unpredictble of the erollment for 50 years later with the situation now. There is no relavance data which can prove this current will maintain like interest of money in the bank which we saved. It is too long to predict the situation later.The college cannot make new building plans with this prediction. Moreover, the author told us the average rent for apartment in the town has risen. But he didn't told us to what extent the increase is, so it would not be assure that the students could not afford the rent.

In conclusion , I suggest the author should take more survey.