The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

“To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham’s enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. “

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the argument recommends that constructing a number of new dormitories, regarding students’ need for a house, is necessary at Buckingham College. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises, all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that existing dormitory space will not be adequate for the reason that the number of enrollment is increasing and will double over the next 50 years. However, there is no evidence to prove that all students who enroll at Buckingham College will need the dormitory. For example, maybe this increase of enrollment is related to students who are resident in the city of College or somewhere near of College, and thus they do not need the dormitory. Or, maybe the growth of enrollment is because of students who choose online courses in which students do not need to presence in classes and habitation in dormitories. Thus, although the number of enrollment is growing, maybe the demand for the dormitory will not be increased.

Additionally, the writer assumes that things remain the same over years. However, in most cases this not true. Maybe in next 50 years, the number of people who has demand for renting a house will decrease, and as a result, the rent will decline as well. Moreover, during these 50 years, maybe the construction of the house will increase and this will affect rent of a house. In addition, there is no evidence to prove that the increase of rent is how much and includes what kind of house, as well as which parts of the city. For instance, maybe this growth of rent is relevant to apartments located in parts of the city with enormous facilities.

Last but not least, the writer implies that the attraction of new dormitories will encourage students to enroll at Buckingham College. If College wants to build a dormitory which is attractive for students, it should ask their opinion. However, there is no evidence to prove that College will build dormitories based on students’ idea. Also, the argument does not show that how beautiful these dormitories will be from students’ perspective or which facilities they will have. For example, maybe these dormitories have such a small rooms that are not appropriate for all students. Or maybe students need facilities which are not provided in these dormitories.

In the final analysis, the writer’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions, each of which is questionable. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.