Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

It is an incontrovertible fact that in today’s state-of-the-art world, media play an important role in spreading news and giving awareness to people. With this in mind, there is a controversy whether the accuracy of news in comparison with the past has increased or otherwise. Although some people think that today media have less concern as to their news and information than past, I, personally, do believe otherwise, for several reasons, three of which--that is competition among media, rising the number of audiences, and improvement of instruments--are of great importance elaborating upon hereunder.

To begin with, by the passage of time the number and diversity of media have increased. Needless to say, the more diversity and number there be in a field, the more rivalry possibly will be created. Of so great intense are these competitions that each of media wants to outperform the others. To do so, having gathered all details and information about a subject, they tend to check them several times. Accordingly, in order to professionally do their duty, and be a winner in this difficult competition, they have to increase their attention and improve their precision. By doing so, they will be on the top of this widespread business of media.

Additionally, one of the most important goals for any media is increasing the number of its audiences. To do so, media need to build their reputation by working better and more accurate. Unless the accuracy of their information is high, the number of individuals who can trust them will be declined. If individuals do not have trust about the performance and honesty of a media, they will never choose it to watch. As a result, in order to keep pace with other media, meet all strata expectation, and being heard and watched by the more number of people, they tend to do their best. Therefore, they have increased "accuracy" the first priority to choose a media by people.

Last but not least, technology an integral part of today's life paving the way towards better performance in any field. Thanks to the invention of electrical instruments such as the camera, the quality of making reports in every moment of events have been provided. Hardly can be said that such reports are of low accuracy, while people can watch it live. In the past, however, the absence of such a practical and useful tools had effects on the media performance. Consequently, reporters were not able to explain events with all details which is nothing short of lack of accuracy.

In the light of all these reasons, I strictly am of the opinion that today, by virtue of technology, competition among media in order to outdo others and absorb much more audience, accuracy has increased compared to the past.