The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes here that to serve the housing need of Buckingham's college students new dormitories are needed. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To support this conclusion, the author reasons that due to the growing enrollment of students and unaffordable off-campus housing, more students will seek to stay on campus dormitories which will inadequate in the future.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the admissions are going to be doubled in the coming 50 years. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. As one cannot predict the ongoing trend to be the same in the future as well. The word trend stands for itself - trend changes with time and we are talking about not one or two years in fact 50 years. Also, you cannot build something planning 50 years ahead. What if the admissions instead of increasing decreases. Hence, the claim made would be more convincing if proper planning is done not on a judgemental basis.

Secondly, the author readily claims that the average rent for the apartment in town has risen in recent years which in turn will force the student to stay in campus dormitories as they won't be able to afford off-campus housing. This again weakens the author's conclusion. Because the author hasn't mentioned the difference in the amount charged by the dormitories and the town housing. Because if the difference is less one can choose either option according to their comfort. As one can live in town without any rules as compared to the on-campus rules. Also, the town is not a small location may be the nearby housing is costly and the far ones are cheaper to stay in as compared to dormitories.

Finally, the author mentions that building new attractive dormitories will attract more students for new enrollment which totally refutes itself. As one would prefer better teaching faculties and other program-related options instead of attractive dormitories while enrolling in the college.

In conclusion, the author's proposal is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must come up with valid reasons for the proposal to be taken into consideration.