Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises a controversial issue of whether governments should be offering colleges and universities education free of charge to all the students. The prompt recommends free education to all the student of college and university which is practically not feasible. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement as it has more flaws then benefits to the student. It will create many problems like funding, moral thinking of the student, choice of universities, less competition, lack of interests in particular field.

First of all, the government runs on the revenue generated from the different sectors of the country which comes from the people of the country in the form of various taxes. Similarly, the college and university runs on funding from the government sector and the tution fees of the students. If education is avaiable for free then the total burden will come on to the government which may result in slow development in other sector of the country.

Secondly, moral thinking of the student will change if free education is provided. The interest to persue the education will be lowered as no moral pressure will be involved. Students might not realize the value to persue it as they are not paying of it. As the quote says " you don't value things untill you have lose it". Lackother of interest and discipline might be another factor to be worried.

Also, universities are funded by the government and private sectors for research and development of the country. However, if education is available for free the funding might be used in development of infrastructure and salaries and limiting the fund for research and development. Finally, providing free education to the needy ones in the form of scholarship and merits basis is feasible but if it is generalized then it might have many ill effects. Thus, a government should only provide free education purely on the basis of merits and in different forms of scholarship.

In conclusion, although providing free education seems quite convincing thought but it cannot be pratically applicable due to the above reasons. As long as some measurements are taken to fullfil the requirements. Only then, it is possible for the government to provide free education to all the needy students.