The following appeared in a business magazine As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing Promofoods concluded t

The author claims here that as a results of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returning for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests preformed on samples of the recalled cans by the chemists from Promofoods; the chemist found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemist did find small amount of other three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods.

Stated in this way, the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidences.

In support of this conclusion, the author reasons that dizziness and nausea causing chemicals are negligible in the tuna cans. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, argument readily assumes that their are only eight food chemicals causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea. Also, out of this eight chemicals three are found in the can but author claims that they occur naturally in all canned foods. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground.

Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that non of the chemicals where present in the tuna cans.The argument readily claims that of all the recalled tuna cans few were tested. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as the chemist have not performed the test on the remaining tuna cans as there might be chances of food chemical detection in other cans. Also, it was not tested for other chemicals which may be the reasons of the dizziness and nausea. If the argument had provided evidence that all the tuna cans which were recalled are tested for the eight food chemicals or any other food chemicals causing health risk then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the chemists who performed the tests were company orientated employees and there was no misleading or false evidence provided to the consumers should be checked at higher level. As many companies provide false or fake data to save the reputation and also, the business of the company from falling down.However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the argument's conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For examples, Where all cans were tested? How tested the recalled cans? Was it confidential and were not changed? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the argument are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the argument must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about food chemicals causing dizziness and nausea in canned foods.