The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College recommends that Buckingham college should build the number of new dormitories for the upcoming students. Director of student housing for supporting his statement, state that based on current enrolment trends of students, within the next 50 years there will be double enrolment in Buckingham college. Also, average rent in our town has risen in recent years so, this will conclude too difficult for students to afford off-campus housing. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated , three questions must be answered.

First of all, Is Director of student housing assuming that all incoming student will live in dormitories or prefer dormitories? There is possible that incoming students can live in off-campus housing, maybe students will have to pay less rent then dormitory rent or they are getting cheap housing nearby college. Also, there is possibility that some students can live with parents so, definitely they will not live in dormitory and that will lead to off-campus housing and vacant dormitory. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weekend.

Secondly, Why director of housing not listing the facilities that student will get in dormitory? There is possibility that incoming students don’t like the dormitory facilities they can more prefer the off-campus facilities because of the off-housing facilities will be good and will be affordable for them. Perhaps, there is possibility that dormitory of college is not in city and that is located in far away from the city and the main college. So they have to travelled from college bus and students cannot prefer this and they will prefer off-campus housing which is well established in city. If the above statement is true, then the author statement does not hold water.

Finally, Why director of housing assuming that enrolment of students will double over next 50 years and assuming the rent of off-campus housing rising? There is possibility that enrolment of students will not double and maybe from upcoming year housing rent reduce and affordable for student’s. Further, maybe government also can introduce some benefits for students for reducing their living cost.

In conclusion the argument, as it stands now, it is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several assumption. If author is able to answer three questions above and offer some more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed implementation.