The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In an article in a business magazine states that a recent study rating 300 male and female, according to the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. In addition, advertising firms studied, those who executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. So the author concludes that if a business wants to prosper then it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. However before these recommendations can be properly evaluated, these questions must be answered.

Firstly, authors assumes that those executives are not good and their firms don’t get higher profits who sleeps more than 6 hours. There is the possibility that some employee who’s is superb than any other employee in that firm in terms of working in company but that employees needs to sleep more than 6 hours. Then firms should fire him and firms should hire only people who need less than 6 hours. If either of these scenarios are true then author’s argument is invalid.

Secondly, author assumes that all 300 male and female biological and their living are same to all over world humans. There can be possibility that only that 300 male and female sleeps no more than 6 hours, but from another country there is possibility that people needs more than 6 hours of sleeps. If the above statements are true then the author argument doesn’t hold water.

Finally, why author-giving suggestion based on advertising author should give suggestion based on scientifically article? Maybe that article in a business magazine is not government verified. In addition, there is possibility that magazine is not popular and no one reads this magazine because of giving unwanted assumptions. If the above questions are true then the author argument significantly weekend.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now, it is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumption. If the author is able answer question above and offer more evidence (perhaps in form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to validate the viability of the proposed recommendation.