In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Author’s states that Prunty county last year lowered speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways for reducing the road accidents but that effort was failed. Therefore, Author concludes that Butler County roads report less number of accidents because of increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections and Prunty county wants to undertake the same methods for improving the accidents. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, author should answered these questions.

Firstly, Author assuming the Prunty county and Buttler County population same? In other words, are both County population are same? There is possibility that Prunty county population is more than Butler county, so if population is more then there can be more vehicle and because of more vehicle there is possibility of more accidents in Prunty county. If either of these scenarios are true then the author’s conclusion is invalid.

Secondly, is both size and economic of Prunty county and Buttler county are same? Maybe Prunty county size is smaller than Bulter County so because of this there is possibility that they cannot increase lane widths. Further, there is possibility that economic of prunty county is not good as butler county so maybe they can’t afford to increase lane widths, reconstruction rough highways. If the above are true then the author argument doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now; it is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions above and provide more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed implementation.