Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the essay, the author states that Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related product is opening its franchise in the town of Plainville. The reports states that Nature’s Way will be successful because Plainville’s is such an area where merchants report say that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. In addition, the local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, author states that schoolchildren will participate the fitness program and this will beneficial for their store. However, before these recommendations can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

First of all, why author is comparing the health food and other health related product’s with other merchants store like running shoes and exercise clothing stores? Is it possible to compare food products with shoes and other accessories? There is possibility that they do not like to eat healthy food. If either of these scenarios is true, then authors, recommendation is significantly weekend.

Secondly, there is possibility they just love shopping running shoes and exercise clothes, no one can say that they are buying products because they love to do exercise. Further, there is possibility that they are buying for giving gift to others exercise-loving peoples. Maybe, they just buy the products for doing exercise or they just enrolled and they do for several days in aerobics classes and weight training but after some time or some months, they can skip and don’t appear for exercise. If the above situation will be true then author argument does not hold water.

Finally, Author’ states that children will be there future customer, but there is possibility that parents can take care of the children’s health because parents are taking care of their health. So, parents can guide their children from their childhood. Perhaps, parents can make healthy food for their children.

In conclusion the argument, as it stands now, it is considerably flawed due to its reliance of several unwanted assumption. If the author is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.