The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog has some of its largest stores in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that they should start placing their own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly in order to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again. To support the conclusion, he cites various evidences such as the example of Fish Emporium and other three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf city. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So, to make the argument more sound, the author needs to cite the following specific evidences.

First of all, the author has assumed that the quality of Fish Emporium Dogs were same even before as five years back. Perhaps, it is possible that the quality of the Dogs in Fish Emporium were significantly improved five years back than even before five years. One the other hand, it is possible that Fish Emporium had started to train dogs before selling. If this was the case, then the author's conclusion significantly weakens by this evidence.

Secondly, the authors presumes that the the location of the Top Dog Pet Stores in the city are located in a suitable location. Possibly, the sales were declining because the stores were situation in the place where the flow of people are relatively low. Additionally, it is possible that the transportation facilities in the Top Dog Pet Stores in the Gulf City are in a very poor condition. If these were the case, this would significantly weakens the author's argument.

In conclusion, it is possible that the placing of their ads in Exotic Pets Monthly may reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again. However, as it stands now, the author's argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render it's conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional specific evidences above two fronts.