The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council."Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has repor

In the given memo, the mayor of Brindleburg argues that building a golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg will generate tax revenue similar to Seaside Vista which can be used for public improvements. In order to augment his argument, the author provides the evidence that Seaside Vista tourism board has seen 20 percent increase in visitors and that its banks have seen a steep rise in loan applications. The author also states that the tax money collected in Seaside Vista has also increased. This series of evidences have led the author to believe that building a similar golf course and resort in Brindleburg will reap profits which can used for public welfare. However, the litany of unsupported assumptions seriously jeopardises the certainty of the argument.

The biggest leap in the argument is the assumption that a similar golf course and resort in Brindleburg will bring in more revenue. It is possible that the location of Seaside Vista and its verdant regions are responsible for drawing the attentions of tourists. Seaside vista may have sea beaches which Brindleburg may not offer, thereby rendering the whole argument moot. Building a resort in Brindleburg may not offer the same scenic beauty which is enjoyed by the vacationers in Seaside Vista. Development of a golf course in the possibly dry and arid regions of Brindleburg may be detrimental to tourism.

Secondly, the author readily assumes that the golf course and the resort are the only reasons for tourist attraction. It is possible that another obscure factor may be responsible for the increase in the number of tourists. Probably, because of the development of the golf course and the resort, the beaches are kept more clean and the market for handicrafts has flourished. The visitors are possibly more attracted to the clean beached and the artistic attractions in the street markets.

Furthermore, it is nowhere stated that the twenty percent increase in visitors has increased the revenue collected from the tourism industry. The argument falls flat because of this assumption. This is merely an assumption without solid ground.

In addition to the above assumptions, the author makes a seriously flawed assumption that the number bank loan applications for new businesses have increased due to the development of the golf course and resort. There are too many unexplored variables present in this assumption. Are the new businesses which have applied for load related to tourism? It is possible that builders are interested in developing new housing societies and are applying for a load for the same. In the prescience of new residents coming in, entrepreneurs may have applied loans for new businesses which cater to residential interests.

This brings us to the final assumption. The author makes another unconvincing assumption that the taxes collected in Seaside Vista have increased due to the presence of golf course and resort. It is possible that the taxes levied on goods and services have increased leading to increase in tax revenue. For instance, if the tax rates on property, food and clothing increase, the tax revenue collected will see a rise and this is nowhere germane to the tourism industry.

There are a number of variables that need to be examined before concluding that the plan is likely to achieve the stated goals without resulting in unintended consequences. In order to make the argument cogent, the author must conduct a survey and explore all the variables that could have led to prospering of Seaside Vista. The author must propose a research team which can get feedback from tourists regarding their interest in the region of Brindleburg. He should explore the natural surroundings on Brindleburg and use it to the advantage rather than mimicking a plan that worked in some other place. With such confirming evidence, the argument begins to cohere.

In conclusion, the author presents an interesting but flawed argument. It is not persuasive but it can be bolstered by the presence of concrete evidences collected using surveys, feedbacks and hypothesis analysis. With this information in place, the author's conclusion becomes not just plausible, but convincing. Without it, the argument is bereft of its critical foundations.