A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your rea

It is the responsibility of a nation to provide equal opportunities to all its citizens. Students constitute a major part of the population of any country. A uniform national curriculum will ensure that the students have access to the same resources before they narrow down to their area of learning interest in college. It should be made mandatory for a nation to require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Furthermore, a uniform national curriculum alleviates the need for an entrance exam at college level. The existence of different curricula gives rise to a debate over the superiority of the syllabi followed by one curriculum over another. This gives rise to the need for a common entrance exam. The students, who are already overloaded with the vast syllabi, have to brace themselves for another exam. This increases the pressure on young minds who could otherwise be engaged in more innovative and practical activities like engaging in summer internships or workshops in their area of interest. Thus the presence of common entrance exams is a consequence of the varies curricula followed by different schools in a nation.

Besides, when students are exposed to a uniform curriculum, they make informed choices while choosing their specialisation in college. A student who has never been introduced to vocation based subjects like Electronics or Computer Science at school level will not have an inclination towards them at the college level as against a student following the curriculum in which such courses are mandatory. Thus a balanced and uniform curriculum introduces students to a myriad of subjects at a early age and helps in shaping up their future interests.

Equally important is the basic knowledge needed for a person to function in today's era. If students are allowed to choose their area of interest in school, they will be devoid of the knowledge of some basic subjects. For example, a student who is interested only in Biology may choose to eliminate statistics from his curriculum. However, all the branches of learning are inter-related and the student not studying basic mathematics may find himself or herself at a disadvantage. Advanced research in Biology needs the knowledge of many probability functions and Hypothesis testing. A student who is not aware of such basic statistics will find himself or herself at a loss.

In addition to the reasons stated above, a uniform national curriculum will make it easier to train the faculty and they can easily be transferred from one school to another as and when the need arises. No special trainings will be needed in case there is a requirement in another school and the teacher desires to change over. Similarly, a student who has to move to different part of the nation owing to personal reasons will not find himself at sea. He or she will be at ease due to the familiar curriculum.

Nevertheless, some people tend to believe that the existence of different curricula is a must due to globalisation. Many students choose to study abroad after school. In such cases, the need for schools with curriculum based on international syllabi is a must. Such schools charge heavy fees which can only be afforded by a small section of the society. This causes the feeling of disparity between the rich and poor class to take roots in the minds of children. If the national curriculum is designed in such a way that it caters to the need of students desirous of pursuing further education abroad, this problem can be eliminated.

In conclusion, a uniform curriculum designed in such a way that it caters to the needs and inclinations of all the students of the nation, irrespective of class and creed is the need of the hour. Such a step will help us in building a society with equal opportunities and access to resources to its children, thereby promising a better future.