Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position,

Wilderness can be defined as any region or ecosystem untouched by human development. Wilderness is slowly becoming a rare and precious resource. With the advent of technology and development, land untouched by humans is becoming rare, thereby causing a threat to the wildlife in its natural state. While many zoos and ecological parks are burgeoning, these are artificial developments and do not preserve the wildlife its pristine state. There is a stringent need for laws to harbour and protect this precious resource. The reasons why wildlife should be preserved in its original state is elucidated in the following passages.

First and foremost, wildlife preservation aids in maintaining the ecological balance. We are aware that human beings cannot function on their own. They are dependent on verdant regions like forests and wild animals for daily human needs. For example, we need wood for furniture, paper, etc. which comes in plethora from the trees in the forests. Such trees do not flourish well in the artificial man made environment. However, they spread out strong and tough branches in the natural environments of a forest. In yet another instance, we know how snakes and other reptiles help in maintaining ecological balance. They burrow the ground, eventually making it more fertile for further forest growth. Another example is that of the flora and fauna that grow in the wild. The ocean floor can also be regarded as kind of wilderness. Pearl oysters, various algae and different types of fish that grow and breed on the ocean floor find immense applications for human use. It is our duty to solicit these regions from adverse effects of chemical effluents and exhaust that we release from the industries to the land and water bodies. Such irresponsible acts lead to deprecation of wildlife and cause ecological imbalance.

Furthermore, History has been a witness to the fact that human activities have lead to mass extinction of many species. It is our duty to learn from our mistakes and protect the species on the verge of extinction. If we do not take heed to this fact, it will not be unsurprising that the animals like Elephants and Horses that we commonly see today will fall prey to extinction much like the Mammoth. Any species is a precious trove. Most of the species breed and flourish in their natural habitat. We should ensure that their habitats are not meddled with and they have a healthy environment to live.

In addition to the above points, we owe a healthy ecology to our future generations. We owe to them clean and pure air and plenty of resources which is only possible by protecting the wilderness in its natural state. When forests are protected and cared for, the air pollution levels gradually decrease. Forests and the wilderness harboured by such ecosystems house a plethora of natural resources like fossil fuels and minerals which will serve as an energy house for the generations to come. The posterity can benefit a lot if we take our wildlife preservation methods seriously and act upon them.

However, some people might state that preservation of wilderness in its natural state may hamper development. For instance, broad and wide roads can be developed in areas where there is presence of natural wilderness or industries, schools or parks could be developed in such regions. However, foregoing such interests is a small price to pay for a broader perspective. An industry can benefit a bunch of people but a clean environment benefits the world as a whole.

In conclusion, it should be our prime responsibility to preserve the natural wild habitat. Strict laws which must be made stringent in adherence must be implemented to achieve this goal. Only with such steps, we can achieve the quixotic ecological and environmental balance and gift our future generations a world that they deserve to live in.