"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Cooperation may be defined as working together in a group while supporting each other constructively. Competition may be defined as trying to reach the pinnacle of glory while leaving others behind. Cooperation has a healthy undertone to it as compared to competition. To be an effective leader in any arena, an individual must have more of co-operative inclinations as compared to competitive ones. Hence, the young people should be instilled with a sense of cooperation and not competition.

Firstly, cooperation allows a group, team or organisation to pool in resources and work together. This allows for efficient utilization of resources. For example, a cooperative group comprising of different teams can use the same expensive workstation servers or auditoriums, thereby alleviating the need to duplicate resources; thereby reducing the financial implications. Had the teams in the group been competitive, sharing of resources would not have been possible.

Furthermore, when a cooperative group works in unison, a goodwill is established leading to more success. For example, if the developers and testers in a software organisation are cooperative, they will help each other resolve the issues in the software program rather than pinpointing each others' peccadilloes. This gives rise to a healthy working environment. Similarly, when the ruling and opposing parties in a government are cooperative, they work together towards the development of the nation. If they are competitive, they waste national resources and time playing petty politics.

Lastly, in a cooperative setup, young people are encouraged to be leaders and not bosses. Leaders work with the team while in a competitive setup, there are bosses. In such a setup, the team works for the boss. Leaders look after a unified success of the organisation along with its employees. Bosses only look at the increasing sales or monetary figures of the organisation with total disregard to the employees.

While some may argue that competition is necessary for success, it is a cynical thought. Competitive success is achieved at the cost of human values which does not prove beneficial in the long run. For example, a cooperative opposition party gives constructive feedback to the ruling party while in a competitive setup, the opposition party will try to find fault even in the positive steps taken by the government so that the former can achieve supremacy.

For a salubrious, sound and happy society, we need our young people to be cooperative and not competitive. A sense of cooperation is the key for developing future leaders who will build a well-balanced and healthy nation based on goodwill.