The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing."Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

it seems axiomatic that resuming the production of alpaca coats. To justify this argument, the new vice president of sartorian cites that pent-up demand is expected since none of their competitors offers a comparable product, and the fact that alpaca overcoat was popular five years ago, when they are able to obtain reliable supplies. While supporting this argument, however, the vice president of sartorian make several assumptions that cannot be taken for granted.

As a threshold matter, this argument hastily assumes that the demand regarding the alpaca overcoat is significant to date. Although this might be the case, it is possible that the demand toward the alpaca overcoat is not significant. The fact that none of their competitors offers a comparable product do not indicate that pent-up demand is present. perhaps majority of people bought another coat to persevere cold weather in the region. thus, though no comparable products (other alpaca coat) is present, it is possible that the demand is totally change in respect of supply-demand curve. Moreover, overall increase of the cost can occur bad influence on the demand. therefore, the demand toward the alpaca coat might not be as significant as the new vice president think. Hence, if this assumption prove unwarranted, then the argument proposed cannot be persuasive.

Even conceding that the pent-up demand is present, this argument is still vulnerable in that it relies on an unpersuasive assumption: the costs of the supplies of high quality wool fabric is similar in respect to the cost from five years ago. this might be the case, however, it is possible that the cost of the supplies surged significantly. if the cost is much higher than that from five years ago, than there are two choices that sartorian can make: to raise the total cost of alpaca overcoat, or to reduce the profit that they make buy selling each alpaca overcoat. regarding the fact that the demand of the alpaca overcoat is sensitive toward the cost of the product, raising the total cost can occur the contraction of demand, but reducing the profit cannot help the alpaca overcoat to be more profitable than ever. thus, if this situations occur, it is unlikely to occur expected results.

Finally, the vice president unfairly posits that the environment and climate of the region or the realm to date is same with that from five years ago. however, it can be proved unwarranted, since the annual climate of the region can change significantly. perhaps overcoat is useless since the overall temperature is higher than ever. In this regard, the demand toward the overcoat is in nadir than ever.

In sum, since numerous assumptions that are unwarranted are applied to the argument, it remains fragile in its form. therefore, vice president should consider about the assumptions that have made by himself/herself, in order to strengthen the argument.