Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

one would say that government funding of the arts is crucial for the realm of art to flourish. In some respects, it seems true that many governments around the world to date have a whole department about the cultural, artistic aspects of the nation, which also serves funding programs. From my perspective, however, government funding of the arts can harm the integrity of the arts.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that some funding toward the realm of art can flourish and be available to all people. since it is essential for artists spread their arts, all the financial problems can be occurred regarding this. For instance, many exhibitions are funded from various foundations including the government, since it is crucial for them to advertise and to run the building where it is being hold. thus, for artists who are not as much wealthy as to pay all the bills regarding this openings, one should be supported financially. it is axiomatic that the more such places related to arts, the more arts flourish. therefore, government funding of the arts is somewhat advantageous for arts to flourish.

Yet, this does not necessarily mean that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish. since many artists are impecunious in the past, they made such beautiful products that had been originated from internal emotions such as sorrow. since it is believed that only arts contained with creators' internal feelings is regarded as true arts, funding cannot help for the incarnation of these emotions. thus, giving government funding without any considerations cannot flourish the arts, because the arts produced solely by funding cannot or little help the development of the contemporary arts. therefore, it can be regarded that the government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

The chief reason for my disagreement against the latter argument of the statement lies on the empirical proof. since the government is giving the funding, they can control the receiver, which lead to significant problem as described below:

A striking example is present, that the blacklist of the artists in Korea had been presented until several years ago, which indicates that by controlling the government funding toward the arts can control the thoughts and ideas of the artists, so that they made artists not to produce arts which is controversial to the contemporary government. thus, by funding artists and choosing whom to be funded, government can control artists, which should be forbidden. therefore, it can be said that the funding threaten the integrity of the arts.

To sum up, it is actually a complex issue, and thus any easy answers are present. Despite funding the arts by government is somewhat advantageous in some respects, it is revealed that it is not in general. All in all, it can be concluded that the government funding of the arts can harm the pureness of the arts.