The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo concludes that the Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before if they resume production. The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions. If the assumptions prove invalid, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, the author of the argument assumes that they can expect pent-up consumer demand for their alpaca overcoats since there was outcry from their customers when they discontinued the product and the fact that none of their competitors offers a comparable product. The author assumes that the demand in the past will be the same today and their previous customers will buy alpaca coats from them if they resume production. For instance, there might be no or less demand for alpaca overcoats presently. This might be the reason why none of their competitors offers a comparable product. If this is the case, then Sartorian's overcoats will be less profitable than before or might produce losses since there is no demand for alpaca coats.

Secondly, the author assumes that they can rely on new fabric supplier for high-quality wool fabric. If the new fabric supplier supplies less-quality wool fabric or if the supply is not reliable, then they cannot be sure that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than before even there is more demand for alpaca coats. For instance, people may take time to try products from new supplier or people might not be interested to buy the alpaca coats supplied by new fabric supplier since it's quality is not the same as in the past. In this case, Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be less profitable than before despite high demand for alpaca coats.

Thirdly, the author assumes that they can depend on new fabric supplier for high-quality wool fabric. He assumes that they will not face any difficulty obtaining reliable supplies in future. He assumes that they will not face any issues if they resume production even after five years and the conditions in the past and present are same. The author should provide evidence that Sartorian company can restart the production of alpaca overcoats without any issues for supporting the argument.

The author must provide concrete evidence that the demand for Sartorian's alpaca overcoats is still the same as in the past or more than before. He must also provide evidence that new fabric supplier is reliable for high-quality wool fabric. If the author provides the above evidences, then it supports the argument.