When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument claims that the town needs to provide more benches in Stanley Park to be as popular as Carlton Park. The argument is based on few assumptions and there is lack of evidence. If the assumptions are invalid, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes that Stanley park is not heavily used because the recording of Video cameras showed an average of only 50 cars last month. The author does not tell if the video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots are placed at regular intervals covering the entire parking lot. If all the video cameras are placed at mounted at a small place of the parking lot which does not capture most area of the parking lot, then they would be making wrong decision increasing more benches. The video camera recording cannot give proper estimate of number of people who visit the park. Maybe most of the people who visit the park stay in the same area and don't need any vehicle to visit the park. If this is the case, their assumption is not valid and they end up making wrong decision.

The author states that Carlton park is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday and concludes that Carlton park provides ample seating compared to Stanley park. Secondly, the author assumes that ample seating is proportional to number of visitors to parks. This assumption is invalid because there is no evidence that most visitors to the park prefer ample seating. For instance, most of the people may visit parks to perform their physical activities like jogging, walking, yoga.

Thirdly, the author assumes that ample seating in Stanley park will increase the popularity of the Stanley park. The author does not take other factors into consideration. For instance, Stanley park may not be as neat or may not have facilities as Carlton park. Stanley park might not be preferred area for performing regular activities like yoga, walking, jogging because of traffic outside the park. If most of the people who visit Stanley park prefer parks for performing their physical activities in pleasant area, then they may not prefer Stanley Park. If this is the case, then increasing number of benches in Stanley park will be of no use.

The author should take all factors into consideration before concluding that the town should provide more benches in Stanley park to be as popular as Carlton park. The above assumptions need to be evaluated which helps in strengthening or weakening the argument.