The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that

manufactures men’s clothing.

Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplier of high-quality

wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric

supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase.

The president of the company plots for resuming the production of the alpaca overcoat which was discontinued five years earlier due to supply chain problems from suppliers. Now he assumed the company will be benefited from the alpaca overcoat as customers would welcome the new wear again. The statement of the president is totally based on the assumption, and I find the chances of the president’s assumption might fall back.

The time interval is vital in any business. Market, demand, supply, customer interest, rate, and infatuation is uncertain. Five years ago, the demand for alpaca overcoats might be high which may be the reason for the high profit for the company. The same might not be the scenario now. Regarding this, fashion is always dynamic. Alpaca overcoat may not attract customers as it would be supposed to. The president mentioned that the competitor company no longer makes alpaca overcoats but there is a chance that local small manufacturers kept continuity in making coats.

The president has accounted for the price as a major accomplishment. Increasing clothing prices may not be inclined in the same proportion in the case of alpaca overcoats. The new fabric supplier might not collaborate to supply fabric at the same price as it was five years ago. If this would be the case, then the total production price would accelerate which would not result from the expected profit for the company.

Overall consideration for an increased profit of the company, re-starting production of alpaca overcoat might not run for a long time. The production needs to have more planning and vision. The president should consider several dynamic factors to have controlled production and calculated outcomes.