To reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores

The recent discussion of the owner of the movies galore mentioned changes in the strategy to increase the profit. To meet the decrement in the operating expenses, the owner stated that it would be best to follow the changes made at the store of downtown i.e., to close the store at 6 p.m. instead of 9 p.m. and to eliminate the stock of movies released more than five years ago. Although the owner was potentially correct about those changes, he is too quick to assume that such changes can make similar decrements in the operating expenses of all the remaining nine stores.

The discussion of the owner implies that all other stores can have the identical result as of store in the downtown. However, along with the assumption, there is the presumption that customers of all the nine stores would have the same preference over old and new movies, same timing of visiting stores, and same skills at bargaining. He has not discussed these views of customers, so we do not have a reference to conclude the results of changes made in one store would have the same curve for others. Perhaps, the people of Downtown do not prefer the old movies. Perhaps, they are not willing to visit the film store after 6 p.m. But the same might not be the scenario at the other places of store shop. Regardless of clear information about the customer, the assumption of the owner might be baseless. One of the reasons for the increment in the revenue of Downtown Store may be less bargaining nature of customer visiting that store. While the customers at the other stores might want movies at the lowest price. Since the lowest payment might be one of the reasons for the lowest revenue, the changes in the operating cost may not be significant in inkling the revenue graph.

The owner of the Galore movies not only requires the plan of operating timing of each store but also needs to study the customer choice of old and new movies for each store. The owner seemed to fail the address individual management and operating policies of stores. Rather than rationalizing all stores through the same policy, the owner should focus on the details of the individual stores. For example, it would be beneficial to have a stock of movies of both majority and minority choices to attract all kinds of customers. If these details are left unaddressed, the Glore movies might not be able to reverse the revenue and reputation of offering movies at affordable rates.

The Owner must look for more options rather than only decreasing operating expenses. He should focus on the market value of his stores, their supply chain, customer feedback, employee management, and other policies. He has eliminated these powerful factors from his strategy or reviving revenue. Without consideration of these factors, the owner may have a difficult time achieving the objective of his business. There are still many hideous factors which need to be discussed with the individual store managers. The owner should not only assume the change in operation time and stock elimination to increase the revenue. Even though one store has proven successful in these ways, it cannot guarantee success for the other nine stores. From there, he should really brainstorm some ideas for the success of each store to recure the declining revenue and reputation.