"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that in order to increase the profit by the stores they should make some changes without raising the rental price in the stores. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that they should diminish expenses at movie stores in order to make a profit. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question the might arise is whether reduction of expenses could help stores to accumulate a vast sum of money. One point that should be considered is that the author does not show what kinds of expenses should be declined. Indeed, there are majorities of expenses in every store that elimination of those expenses might create some problems for the stores. Maybe raising expenses result in profit, for example, allocate some money to the stores for advertisement their movies. Who knows?

The author also points out that increased rental price is not a logical idea because they are famous for their low price. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if, with an increase of inflation and economic recession day in day out in every given society, low price could compensate for a huge money. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that low price will result in detriment in the long run. If stores maintain their rental price as low as possible because of their reputation, they will soon witness a terrible marketing in near future. Alongside that, maybe increase the price of some movies, not by all, recover the stores from such difficulty.

Finally, as set forth by the author one of the stores in downtown reduce its expenses consequentially by closing the store sooner ate evening and eliminate movies released more than five years. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if, closing sooner or eliminate some movies could help store make a vast sum of money. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe majorities of people prefer to rent or buy movies after 6:00 pm because of their works and career. In this case, the store will lose a noticeable money if it closes sooner. Moreover, eliminate old movies is not a wise idea owing to the fact that there are too many people who are interested in old fashion movies. Although last month the demands were low, there is no guarantee the demands reduce in near future. One creative work stores could do is that they can offer their movies through the internet and make it downloadable. In this way, not only can they reduce expenses but also can appeal myriads of people and reach a hoard of money.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.