Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not?

For ages, reading and writing has been vital aids to the intellectual, emotional and spiritual growth of mankind. With the rapid changes in the society and scientific development of human race over the decades, the necessity and importance of reading and writing has increased remarkably. Bearing this fact in mind a question that is a matter of debate a controversial one is whether ability to read and write is more significant today compare with past or not. Agreement is yet to be reached on this issue; however, I am personally on the belief that nowadays without this ability will run into a huge problem in their lives. In the following paragraph, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

One compelling reason, lending credence to the stance taken above is that knowledge of reading and writing has penetrated every single facet of our lives without which our lives seems to be paralyzed. Scientifically speaking, in the past people were not familiar with the influence of reading and writing owing to the fact that technology and lifestyle have not improved yet. Indeed, vast majorities of people suffer from illiteracy and due to paucity of facilities were not able to enhance their educational skills. But today with the advent of modern technology and technological advancement lifestyle has changed and not only do ability of reading and writing play a pivotal role in life but also become essential among people. Delving further into the issue reveal that hardly ever people can progress without this kind of ability because in today's hectic world in order to work or do shopping and so forth people should get acquaintance with reading and writing. In fact not until people get familiar with this ability will they confront serious difficulties in their life. a noteworthy refreshingly intelligible statistic revealed by recent social research conducted in our country; show that with the development of new technologies such as computers and internet people started to enhance their ability of reading and writing due to the fact that vast majorities of activity depend on computers and without reading and writing people are not able to work properly.

Another reason that is equally important if not more that communication method has changed through years. Broadly speaking, in the past people communicate with each other face to face or in other word in person. Nowadays due to huge changes in lifestyle, hardly ever people contact with each other in person. In fact, they are more likely to benefits from voice mail and other means of communications. To put it in other word, in order to make a relation people should have ability to write and read. Actually, not only can this ability provides an opportunity for people to get informed from what happen to them but also can bring people in close. However, what i alluded to above cannot be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside with the innumerable benefits it has, indisputably, nowadays life style has been machinery through which people do not need to know about reading and writing. In fact, in the past people did not benefit from presence of computers and internet, so that people were force to learn writing and reading in order to handle different kind of activity. Nevertheless, it does not make those preceding benefits pale.

To wrap it up, reading and writing play a key role in people's life not only in the past but also present. Contemplating all the aforementioned reason one soon realize that todays with the advent of modern technology people need to be informed such kinds of ability without which we will run into a huge trials and tribulations. In addition, social skills has changed through decades and crowds of people make a relation through voice mail and other means of communications. I highly suggest that people should enhance their ability of reading and writing. If people do not reverse such a trend, we will soon witness a lagging society.