“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Galore’s rental movie stores are facing the decline in the profit, author had suggested some changes to reverse the decline in the profit. The shops main focus is on reducing the operating expenses rather than increasing in the rental prices for the movie. Last month one the store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 Pm rather than at 9:00 pm the author is suggesting to that same to the same with other stores. Even though through this method store is able to reduce its operating expenses it is not advisable to do that as by closing the store three hours before the desired timing store is losing the revenue. By Closing the stores early store might lost its regular customer who prefer to pick a movie to rent at night and that customer will start going to the different movie rental store. Because of this method movie rental stores will not only loose the revenue but along with that their regular customers. Which might affect the reputation of the stores. Galore’s rental movie stores total has ten stores by following in this method there will be significantly impact on revenue of the stores.

Further author suggested to reduce the operating expenses, the store can eliminate stock of the movies released more than five years ago. This method of reducing the operating expenses is not viable. As simply put rental amount for these movies can still generate the revenue for the stores. And non-availability of such movies can give stores reputation that Stores with the limited stock of the movies. Stores shall analysis their customer base and on basis of that make the decision to eliminate the stock of the movies. There customers might prefer watching the old classics rather than watching movie release two years back. Also, if stores can charge extra for movies which are not get frequently rented out to cover for their operating expenses with that company will save on the operating expense and earn revenue.

Author is suggesting all the above solutions to reverse decline profit on the basis of one store. Galore’s Movie rental total have ten movie rental houses. Which works for one store will not necessarily will work for the other stores. As Location plays vital role in any business models. May be store is able to close store at 6:00 PM because it knows there is no potential customer after 6:00 PM so instate of keeping store open for next three hours it chooses to close store early. Similarly, store able to eliminate stock of movie released more than five years ago because it hs no potential buyers for that movie Therefore, store might have done that without losing the revenue and reducing the operating cost.

If Galore’s movie rental wants to reduce operating expenses it can analysis one store at a time and make decision rather than providing with the blanket solution to the reversing of the declining profit. Some of the stores are might not be that profitable as location of the two stores is nearby then the Galore’s movie rental can eliminate such stores.

As reasons stated above, Movie rental house shall analysis their customer needs and requirement of the each stores individually rather than blindly following the example set by the one store.