The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

The above argument from the memo of vice president seems to have a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the pest control services provided by the two different company. Considering his summary, the change of suspect is more likely to increase about the pest damage. The argument drifts away from the reality if these assumptions do not hold true.

It has been mentioned that new Fly-away pest company provided service at warehouse in palm city whereas the initial Buzzoff pest company provided service at Wintervale. The vice president has not considered the working means, area, volume and environment of these two warehouses. The controlling pest methods can be different in two warehouses and others influencing factor might be responsible for food damage.

The vice president has calculated the service provided by the different pest control company in terms of final loss only. The total amount of the food in the warehouse remains vague. It is possible that the damage of $20000 could be the smaller portion of the total worth of food in palm city and opposite in the case to wintervale. The measure of overall effectiveness of the pest control is unstated.

The final conclusion is lead by returning to buzzoff which cannot be taken as the gest of the analysis. The hidden aspects of the two warehouse like the management and technology might causes impact in the results of the controlling pest at two different warehouses. The comparison seems to be unfair and illogical.

The assumptions by the president overshades the reality of the working and effectiveness of the two pests control company. Unless considering these fallacies, jumping in the conclusion to return to bezzoff seems harsh decision.