The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from owner of the chain of cheese stores says that, the inventory should be limited to only domestic cheese varieties as demand for imported cheese is decreasing. Also, it is mentioned in the memo that abating the inventory would help to improve the profits. Author supports his argument by mentioning about a survey conducted by a magazine which indicated that, people are moving towards local cheese types. This argument seems plausible at first glance, however, after scrutinizing carefully, the argument seems seriously flawed, so, it is very difficult to conclude if argument is correct or not without some more evidence.

Firstly, the owner’s decision is based on an assumption which is very vague. It is mentioned in the memo that, at the newly opened store, five best-selling cheeses were domestic. This does not mean that all of the stores of the chain have had same experience, it could be possible that stores in other parts of the country have sold different varieties other than local cheddar, perhaps even imported cheese. Moreover, author does not provide any information about dominant cheese types from previous years other than last year. It would be illogical to base his argument on only one year’s data. So, statistical data about the sale of different cheese types across the country along with yearly demand for various cheese types is needed to confirm that author’s assumption is true. If, the nation wide cheese sales data suggests that even imported cheese sale is good or the local cheese had record sale only in last year then the author’s argument will fail miserably.

Secondly, the magazine which conducted the survey fails to give any sort of numerical data about its subscribers’ preferences. Also, there is no data about, by what percent the preference over imported has increased, if the percentage of increase is inconsequential, the argument becomes even more less substantial. Moreover, all the customers who buy cheese, may be not subscribers of the magazine. It is essential to know about popularity of the magazine at the national level. What if the magazine is circulated in only one state? This means that, the magazine has taken consideration of only one state, and the data provided by the survey in not exhaustive. If the author provides the proof of credibility of the magazine survey the argument becomes strong.

Also, there is no proof that, removing the imported cheese from the inventory will definitely increase the profit of the chain. Customers’ propensity towards local cheese may change over time and they may start to like imported cheese again, in this scenario, discontinuing international cheese may have adverse effects on profits. Moreover, some customers tend to look at the prices before buying the cheese, what if in the future, due to increased demand local cheese becomes costly? Then, without looking further customers will go for imported cheese or they may go to other cheese stores altogether. Moreover, lot of factors contribute to increased profit of any business. The author here makes a flimsy assumption that profits will go high if imported cheese is discontinued and fails to provide convincing evidences that support his argument.

To conclude, because of the aforementioned reasons, the author fails to propose a cogent argument and also fails to make logical deduction about cheese sales. If, some solid evidence was provided to corroborate his extrapolations, the argument would have been more defensible. Thus, the store owner should give second thought about his decision to discontinue imported cheese and his decision should be based on facts and figures rather than untenable assumptions and illogical inferences.