The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The authors argument that increasing the size of family rooms and kitchens in newly constructed homes will increase sales and profits is flawed. In the argument, the author makes sweeping generalizations about the new construction home market based upon a single sample of data that is not representative of the entire new home construction market. Furthermore, the author draws these conclusions on ambiguous and vague terms that have many potential interpretations.

In the argument, the author states that a competitor in the area sold “ a number of homes” must faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average because they have large family rooms and large kitchens. Therefore, the author concludes that his or her company should increase the size of family rooms and kitchens in the homes they build and sell to boost sales and profits. This is a flawed assumption for many reasons. Firstly, the author is assuming that “a number” of homes entails many homes. Because we don’t the author definition of “ a number”, we cannot be for certain to its meaning. It is quite possible that “a number” could entail 4 or 5 homes, in which case the assumption is faulty. The author is also assuming that the large family rooms and kitchens are the only reasons for selling the homes quickly and at higher prices, when the homes could have sold for reasons such as large walk in closets, a three car garage, vaulted ceilings, and granite countertops.

Secondly, the author is basing his assumption off of a national survey that revealed that the two most desired features in a home are a large family room and a large kitchen. This assumption is flawed, because the author is assuming that a national survey is representative of their local housing market. For example, the author might specialize in building homes in rural areas. In this case, the national survey data would not be representative of their housing market. There, potential customers might be more concerned with purchasing a view, acreage, and landscaping more so than a large family room and a large kitchen.

The authors argument could be strengthened by including data from a survey of home owners more representative of their housing market, rather than using a national average. Secondly, the author could strengthen the argument by defining what “ a number of homes specifically entails. As it stands, the authors argument is flawed for the reasons indicated.