The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls throughout the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved two years ago by McAdam Road Builders, is now badly cracked and marred by dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 66, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. Appian Roadways has recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery, and it has hired a new quality-control manager. Because of its superior work and commitment to quality, we should contract with Appian Roadways rather than McAdam Road Builders to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls."

The author of the argument cited that, the roads in one part of the state which was constructed by McAdam Road Builders two years ago has weathered down and is dangerous for the people traveling on that road. However, road constructed four years ago by Appian Roadways in other part of the city is still in good condition. The conclusion derived by the author that Appian Roadways is better choice for them to construct road might appear logical at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author has highlighted many questions. Therefore, the premise in their current form are not cogent and argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions which make it more susceptible to attack.

To begin with, the author has not taken into consideration the amount traffic on each road. Maybe, Route 101 is the main highway and more frequently used by the travellers. Maybe, Route 101 is mostly used by heavy duty vehichles such as loaded trucks or buses. Which will surely lead to more wear and tear of the road if compared to other routes which have low intensity of traffic. There might be a possibility that traffic on Route 66 is very low and people rarely use that route.

Moreover, Route 101 can be the road which is connected to all the state and if anyone has to go from one part to other has to take Route 101.

Secondly, the author does mention about the new technology that Appian Roadways have recently acquired and has hire a new quality-control manager. However, the author does not mention anything about the technology which McAdam Road Builders have. There can be a possibility that McAdam Road Builders already have the technologies or even more advance than Appian Roadways have recently acquired. The author does not mention anything about the new quality-manager Appian Roadways have hired, new always does not means it is good. Maybe the former manager was far more skilled than the new one. Therefore, the author has not provided enough evidence to make the argument convincing.

Thirdly, the author should have also checked the quality of the materials that are used by both the companies. Moreover, he should have the labour force and the skills of the manager who will lead the construction. That could have provided more clear picture of the company which is to be preferred for the task. However, the author have failed to analyze the fact.

To sum up, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with more evidence to make the case stronger. The author should have compared both the companies on equal grounds. However, the author failed to examine the facts thereby rendering the argument indefensible.