The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president stated the argument that under Fly-away pest control service last month, the loss in the warehouse in Palm city due to pest was over $20000; whereas under the Buzzoff Pest control company, the loss in the warehouse in Wintervale was only $10000. The vice president thus suggested that to better control the cost, the food company should return back to use Buzzoff's service. However, this memo is untenable since there are number of questions regarding to the suggestion require further analysis.

First, it is questionable that the data from last month can show all the information that Fly-away company had more loss than Buzzoff company. To better evaluate the argument, we need to examine whether in other months, the B-company can still outperform the F-company. It is totally possible that last month was the only month that B-company reduced the pest damage effectively, whereas in other months, B-company all have loss of food that is greater than F-company. Another possibility is that maybe last month the food storage under Fly-away is much larger than the amount of storage under Buzzoff so if the vice president calculates the proportion of loss to the total storage, Fly-away may show a better performance than Buzz-off company. However, if it is other way around, then the argument of the president can be correct.

Second, it sill in doubt that when the Buzzoff company returns to Palm city, it can still do the same standard of work. We need to examine the question that the warehouse loss control in Palm city is still serious under Buzzoff's service. It is possible that in the last month, a more feral species of pest came into the Palm city that caused F-company had over $20000 food loss. And this kind of pest may be still last in the Palm city for next several months, so Buzzoff company cannot control the food loss either, or it may have greater value loss than Fly-away company did. However, if this situation is not going to happen or the type of pest was the same in the last month, then the president's advice is viable.

To sum up, the suggestion that the food company should let the Buzzoff company return to provide pest control service to reduce the total cost is unreasonable. The questions discussed above should be considered and they can better form a better evaluation to the president's suggestion.