The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, states that the company is wasting the money due to their patented Endure producing process, which allow them to manufacture socks with long life span, two years. He elaborates on this argument with the findings customers surveys, and he suggests that they can increase their profit through discounting use of the Endure manufacturing process. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated, the arguer should clarify some assumptions which are unwarranted.

First of all, the vice president states that their customers survey in the northeastern United States cities showed that clients give more importance fot style and color of the products rather than its durability. However, this findings of the study is valuable, we cannot be sure that they are credible, since we do not know about the demographic characteristics of the participants. It is possible that the majority of customers of the survey are adolescants and their judgements are superficial to generalize all of the customers. Moreover, there is a possibility that most of the participants are women, and their taste and preference may be different from the men. As a result of these points, it is clear that lacking details and unwarranted assumptions of weaken the argument.

Secondly, the author of the argument mentions that they chose northeastern United States cities for survey, where their largest market, however, it is not clear that most of their clients live in the northeastern United States cities. It is possible that they live in the southern, and they shop in the northeastern part of the country because of lower tax rates of northeastern region. If this scenario has merit, then it means that the original argument is weakened, and the arguer needs to add new survey conducted on the clients live in the southern cities of the United States.

Lastly, the writer says that accordinf to a new study their customers buy socks in every three months, even though their advertising campaigns based on durability of the products. Nevertheless, this study is not strong enough o make generalization about the preference of the clients. Because, it is not clear that clients throw away their old socks in every three months, and it is possible that they buy one sock every three months in order to follow fahion rather than buy eight socks per two years. Further, time and duration of the study did not mention by the vice presidents, which can affect the drawn consequences. There is a possibility that this new study conducted between the Thanksgiving and the Christmas period, as a result, results of the study showed that people shop in every three months. If either one of these claims is valid, then it means that the original argument is weakened.

In conclusion, this argument of the vice president has flawns as it is stated. The arguer needs to support his assumptions with details such as participants’ features of surveys, time and duration of the studies, Moreover, he requires to give specific evidence to increase strengthen of his arguement.