The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to memo of the planning department of an electric power firm, the company does not require new generating plants, and their three generetic plants is enough for their necessities. He elaborates on his argument by providing several evidents. First of all, he states that owners of home have interests for conserving energies. Secondly, he mentions that novel home appliances including refrigerators and air conditioners use less energy than older ones. Moreover, it is posited that greater application of insulation and solar energy for heating reduce electricity usage in their area. However, before this recommendation properly evaluated, unstated and stated assumptions, which influence original argument should be indicated.

First of all, it is stated that some surveys have found that home owners have solicity for conserving energy. However, we do not know about these studies, since their reliability and coverance can affect coherency of the argument. It is possible that studies conducted on a few home owners or these home owners do not have possesions in this area. Further, there is possibility that number of surveys are not enough to make generaliztaion for entire area. If one of these scenarios has merit, it means that original argument will weaken since it is based on this assumption.

Secondly, the arguer points out that manufacturers sell energy efficient home appliances, which will decline demand of electricity in their area. Although, these home appliances can reduce energy usage, there is no knowledge about their popularity among people who live in this area. It is possible that they are expensive; hence, people do not buy them even though they promise lower electricity expenses. Furthermore, there is possibility that people do not believe these promises and they do not prefer to have them. Therefore, it is clear that the author does not give information about preferences of residents of this area. However, this knowledge can change credility of argument due to its dependence on it.

Thirdly, in the proposal, it is posited that companies’ electric generating plants, which have been used for twenty years can be enough for their needs. However, there is no knowledge about life time of electric generating plants. It is possible that they are old-fashioned and they should be renewaled in order to encounter their requirements. Nevertheless, the arguer does not provide information about their current situation.

In conclusion, this argument proposed by planning department has flawns due to its reliance on unstated and stated weak assumptions. The arguer should explain details about stated assumptions such as quantity and quality of surveys, and percent of residenst who use or want to use new home appliances. Moreover, owner of the argument ought to provide more information about recent condition of electic generating plants before decide for new generating plants.