The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument above praises the special feature the company incorporated in its product. It goes further and states how this socks, though advertised to be strong enough to last two years, is constantly being replaced with new ones by the customers. It ends with a possible solution to mend this problem. The solution might seem far fetched and not enough at first glance. But when the assumptions made by the company in the manufacturing of "Endure" socks is revised, it becomes evidently clear as to why it is the optimum solution.

The memo does not discuss the criteria it uses to determine the endurance of the socks. Consider, Canada where the temperature can drop to less than minus forty degrees and more. The socks needs to be thick and sturdy to endure such harsh winters. But during the summers where the mornings are burning hot, the socks needs to be light and breathable. The company proclaims that the socks are strong enough to last for two years but have not mentioned in which circumstances are these claims valid. They also fail to mention the weather conditions they are most suitable for.

Building from the above argument, the memo also have not mentioned the type of 'endurance' the socks posses. They never stated whether the socks are strong enough that they never tear or whether they are strong enough that they never lose their color or size. "Endurance" can be interpreted in many ways and this ambiguous explanation does not give the assurance people need to buy it. Adding to this, The company praised the "endurance" of the socks and yet failed to mention about its elasticity. Most often socks become lose around the edges and hang down as time passes. This prompts people to replace them constantly no matter how strong or tear-free they are.

People come in different sizes. For example, imagine a man weighing more than 200 pounds at the start of the year when he buys the socks. Assume that he lost half his weight by the end of the year. There is no guarantee that these socks would still fit him. People are never constant when it comes to their sizes and most often these socks needs to be replaced to fit their current size and requirement.

From the above assumption, it is clear why people would like to constantly restock their socks. When the need for restocking is evident, it is not surprising that the customers rather opt for stylish and better looking socks over design-less and plain looking ones. Fashion is revered in the present world and it is expected to find more and more people opting for fashionable clothing even when it comes to socks. In conclusion, to appease the falling sales it is better to discontinue the production of "endurance" socks and adopt the outmoded way of producing socks in colorful and trending patterns and designs.