The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks, Inc."A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process,

The memo passage by the vice president of marketing at Dura-Socks is in favor of discontinuing the use of the endure manufacturing process that ensures the socks strength and durability. The reason cited is that, one of the recent conducted studies suggested that the company is wasting money on ensuring the durability of the manufactured socks while customers purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. In order to vindicate the argument, the author of the memo states that surveyed customers in their largest market-northeastern United States cities most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. This series of evidences have led the author to believe that the company is wasting money and discontinuing the use of the Endure manufacturing process can increase the company's profit. However, the litany of unsupported assumptions seriously jeopardizes the certainty of the arguments. While on the surface the argument appears to be cogent, on further scrutiny, we can see that it is rife with fallacies and assumptions and sill leaves some unspoken questions that should be addressed.

First of all, the author of the memo mentions that his arguments were based on a recent study but fails to clarify and provides more details about the study. The survey is vague, and loosely put relation. We are not given any insight about how the study was conducted. For example, the author did not mention how many people were questioned, the social classes and the ages of the surveyed customers. Moreover, the people in a certain high social classes tends to value more the trending appearances and does not have monetary problems. Thus, they tend to purchase new socks more often and they don't care about the durability issues. Also, the memo states that the survey was only conducted in their largest market-northeastern United States cities and it was not generalized which makes the study questionable.

Second of all, the author of the memo states that the surveyed customers most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors and did not mention whether or not reducing the durability of the manufactured socks represents an issue for them. In fact, the author did not state if the survey questioned customers about preferring stylish appearance and colors with or without the durability feature.

Finally, the author claims that by discontinuing the use of the endure manufacturing process, the profit the company will increase. However, the truth of this statement is highly questionable taking into consideration the fact the company's strategy will be about innovation and designing new socks appearances that appeals the customers. Thus, investing more money than before to attract customers that prefers stylish socks and conserving those who preferred durability.

After examining and analyzing these points, the argument of the author does not seems to justify discontinuing the use of the Endure manufacturing process. It might be possible that this strategy is more wise, but more research is needed to make a cogent case.