The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Vice president of Quiot manufacturing made a decision for shortening work shift to reduce on-the-job accident and increase productivity. Also, expert explained that because of the sleep deprivation, it causes on-the job accidents. It seems very coherent from the passage, but there aren’t any assumptions that support the value of argument.

The factual value is that Quiot manufacturing has one hour more than Panoply industries plant, and it goes directly to the reason why Quiot manufacturing has more problem on the on-the-job accidents than Panoply. In summary, argument wanted to explain that now that Quiot manufacturing has one more hour to shift work, it will cause the sleep deprivation and fatigue. However, there is not even single proof that workers from panoply neither are going to rest right after work nor they don’t have on-the-job accident because of sleep deprivation and fatigue. Author should give an assumption that workers in Panoply don’t have cause of on-the-job accident regarding to sleep deprivation or fatigue.

Moreover, when there is reduction in amount of work shift, it will give more productivity. However, there is unstated assumption that workers from Quiot manufacturing are not hard workers. Readers doesn’t know whether Quiot workers manufacture the item efficiently or not. If Quiot workers are hard workers who are always making items five times than Panoply, then author couldn’t assert. Even argument doesn’t have rate of efficiency either worker has fatigue or not. Since there is no specific proof, vice president, thus, can’t measure the productivity.

There are various types of Manufacturing. In general, when we compare two companies, these companies have the same items that they are selling and they should have only different skills. However, vice president only gives the numerical amount of time to reduce so that workers would not going to harm themselves regardless of what Quiot manufacturing does. For example, Quiot manufacturing produces high quality of car such as Ferrari, Bugatti etc. On the other hand, Panoply industries plant produces car frames. This will basically understand the reason why Quiot manufacturing has to work one hour more work than Panoply.