The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of quiot manufacturing in memo suggests that to reduce number of on job accidents at quiot manufacturing and there by increase their productivity ,they should reduce each of three work shifts by one hour so assuming that employees will get adequate amount of sleep. The arguer strengthen his argument by comparing quiot manufacturing with nearby panoply industry industries plant he claims that quiot had 30 percent more on job accident than panoply where the work shift are one hour shorter than theirs.Moreover, he indirectly assumes that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are main reason behind. On first look this argument looks to be cogent but by closely examining we can see there are certain logical flaws.

Firstly,the arguer takes in to account the jobs accident of only year there me be chances that in previous years jobs accident are more in panoply manufacturing .Moreover, arguer directly compare quiont industry with panoply industries assuming that both the manufacturing has same level of risk involved .There is no clear evidence of the risk level in both manufacturing.It could be possible that quoint has higher risk than that of panoply.There is no mention of machinery used in both the companies. It can be possible that panoply manufacturing has full automation thereby reducing number of people involved in operating machines.so it cannot compared on this basis .

Secondly,the arguer has not provided any dependency of sleep deprivation and fatigue on job accidents . So, one cannot say that on job accident are due stress and sleep deprivation.Here, arguer assumes that by shortening each of three work shifts by one hour so that time saved will be used by employer to sleep. It is possible that worker use this time for other activities also. so , this argument or suggestion does not seem to be logical.

Lastly,the arguer relates productivity with on job accidents . The productivity of any industry depends only several factors like machinery used, automation,trained workers, etc.One cannot relate it directly to number of on job accidents. So, to increase productivity manufacturing should train their employees, used latest machinery, proper use of human resource, giving deadlines ,etc.This will be good way to increase productivity rather than shortening each of three work shifts by one hour.

In sum,quiot manufacturing to increase productivity and reduce on job accident it should train there workers and employ better machinery rather than reducing time of each of three work shifts.