32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter th

The Quiot industries takes the decision of shortening their work shift by one hour in order to increase the productivity and decrease the number of accidents. This decision was taken by comparing the other industry where the work hours are less by one hour and less accidents. But direct comparison of the two industries would not be valid as there are certain assumptions which should be considered to make the argument more cogent and valid. It is not stated in the memo as which type of industries do the two industries the panoply and Quiot belong. Along with that the surrounding of the industries the facilities, the place where the industries are located are not described. The type of machines used and the information about the timing of the shift is not

detailed properly. Thus certain assumptions are requisite to make the memo succinct.

Firstly, it is required to be assumed that the two industries work differently and produce different type of components or services. The Quoit manufacturing may be assumed as to be making more heavy, hazardous parts such as large metal parts or pernicious chemicals, due to which more incident of accidents are taking place. On the other hand panoply industry may be manufacturing smaller light weight and less hazardous components so owing to less dangers. In addition to that it may also be assumed that surroundings of the two industries are different in the sense that the Quoit industry is located in a squalid region due to which employees may have harmful effects on their health leading to increase in the number of accidents. In contrast to that the panoply industry may be located in a clean and sophisticated area.

Secondly, Both the industries may have different types of rules and regulation, it may be assumed that the Quiot manufacturing industry may have stringent regulations regarding the free time available to the employees for rest which may lead to the exhaustion of the employees and increase in the number of accidents. It may also be assumed that the facilities provided by the two industries to thei employees such as canteen, pantry, type of workplace and its characteristics such as dimly lit room, small area, and more ratio of machine in a given area which also results into accidents.

Finally, It may well be assumed that the Quiot industries allow the employees to work in double shifts and along with that the timings of day and night are even not fixes which may lead to sleep deprivation and tiredness leading to accidents.

Thus to sum up it will not be beneficial for the quiot industry to lessen the shift timings by one hour if certain assumptions are not brought into light and also the comparison of the two industries is not relevant if certain assumption are not taken into account.