The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council."An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study repor

The study's report that fish consumption in substantial amount can prevent cold and reduce the abseinteisms in schools and workplaces is not succinct enough to consider the argument to be credible. There are certain flaws in the argument which can be evinced to strenghthen or weaken it. The study report does not describe the details such as the number of people of East Meria consuming fish. It is not described as the consumption of which kind of fish helps to prevent cold and it is even not necessary that all the fish have Ichthaid nutritional supplement in their oils. It is not even proper to conclude that only consumption of fish is reason for the prevention from cold. The treatment of cold depends upon its particular symptoms, those symtomps are also not described. It is quoted in the passage that it is the cold that results in abseinteism but it is not a strong point as abseinteism might also occur due to some other reasons and so these points weakens the cogency of the argument.

Firstly, The number of people living in East Meria consuming fish is not indicated. It is possible that only a little population consumes fish and in that case there is no point of proving the point of reduction in abseinteism in schools and workplaces and consumption of fish. On the other hand if a large population is consuming fish then people suffer very less from cold and abseinteism is very low. In the passage it is not described that the consumption of which kind of a particular fish leads to a reduction in cold. It is possible that only a few people have beniffited from the consumption of a particular kind of fish. Not all the fish have the nutritional supplement Ichthaid in their oils.

Secondly, There may be other reasons such as good diet, change in weather, less stress, that may have lead to a reduction in cold without the consumption of fish. Also the reasons due to which the people are suffering from cold is not evidenced because the cure of a particular cold depends upon the symptoms of the cold. Well it is no even necessary that it is cold that is the only reason for absenteism. There might also be other reasons such as some other kind of illness religious or social ceremonies etc. so it also does'nt make a valid point in proving abseinteis due to cold.

To sum up, The reason that cold increases abseinteism weakens the argument.