Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Scientific research represents two side of a single coin. Government should first perform a critical analysis of the research topic before restricting the scientific research. Scientific research and development leads the world to either dystopia or utopia. So my opinion about the interests of the government in restricting the scientific research in some cases is affirmative.

Firstly, a scientific research may lead to development and it makes the life of people much easier but on the other hand some research projects are very dangerous and may lead the world to dystopia. For illustration the most tragic moment in the history of science and world politics is the development of the atomic bomb which took a death toll of a large number of people. Government should have kept certain restriction in such cases because the goal of science research and development should not be the destruction of the world and the human civilization who has developed it.

Secondly, the scientific research in the development of automobile vehicles has with no doubt benefit the people on the earth but on the other hand it has spread colossal amounts of carbon and nitrogen gases in the atmosphere damaging and perturbing the ecosystem in which various species of flora and fauna nurtures. Government restriction in this case has targeted toward the decrease in the use of fossil fuel and increase in the use of renewable sources of energy.

On the contrary, Restrictions leads to the fettering of the freedom of action of the various organization which hinders the progress in the field of science and technology. For example Suppose a small private rocket company wants to research on whether the use of nuclear fuel provides efficiency or not, the government restriction in this case would be in the form of rejection in providing the nuclear fuel or denying the use of nuclear fuel in that case the government restriction ceases scientific research.

Finally, It is very good if the government denies some activities in the field to prevent the engendering of destruction. To sum up government should restrict the research if it is found in some case that its result might impact the earth and its life form in a wrong way.