Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is not untrue that one of an indication of a country’s growth lies in its scientific development. A nation with the best research resources help bloom the economy by admitting thousands of students and researcher from different countries for a wider scope to science. There is a big chance that many of these students may want to become researches in their particular field; to find something that no one else ever did or to develop something better from its predecessors. All of this requires extensive research and tools.

Any scientific exploration is backed by the government and the institute under which the task is done. Although the government supports research, it is not wise to bolster every research as many are danger to the world. For instance, if one day a state decides to have its own nuclear power plant, only as a reason to safeguard itself from any potential threat, one can never say when they may use it on someone else and become a threat to them instead.

Every country has its internal matters and if majority of them have the right and power to build weapons that can destroy their enemy state, there is always a sense of fear of them using it. Often times, there are inter-country problems and they are tend to be solved or at least negotiated by calling for a meeting or a summit of the leaders. If each country has its own nuclear weapons to fire, there will never be a chance to appease things by talking. Even though many countries have certain nuclear power under them, they are forbid from using it. Hence, certain restrictions are necessary to be placed while developing scientific inventions.

Many times, because of lax government policies when it comes to the funding of the research, there is a high possibility of the fall in economy because most of the budget is used by the country in hope of producing a breakthrough. Low economy causes fall in jobs and hence increase in poverty and crime. Officials should keep a track of the expenses spent on the research and the output it produces and not the output the institutions claim to produce in the future.

The exponential rise in the research and development is spreading around the globe and is an unstoppable force. Every country wants to hold the maximum power, not by ruling other countries but by being the leader when it comes to the technical and scientific zone. This thirst for dominance can prove to be fatal, not only for the country but also for its people.

People often are exploited when it comes to production of something. People with lower income often fall prey to this as they are ready to do any work for minimum wage. Their subversive nature makes them prone to abuse and ill- treatment and is something which is regarded unfair and unjust by the government. Undercover inspections and stricter rules should be in play to reduce this malice as much as possible. Children under the age of 18 are made to work the most, although it is against the law. These sorts of enslavement come from negligence from the authorities and corruption.

Scientific experiments that involve the production of medicines require volunteers who are willing to let themselves be tested to the medicine. However, in a nation with less population or low literacy rate, these medicines are tested on unwilling animals that often die from wrong dosage or allergy. These animals now risk extinction and should be under watchful eyes. In some remote places, the medicines are tested on small kids or even kidnapped children, who either live to tell the tale or share the same fate as the animals.

The bad side of the research is daunting and something nobody would want to see or witness. Therefore, for a safer country with content people, it is necessary to urge the need of stringent rules and restrictions from the Government when it comes to the scientific research and development in their country.