The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Mozart school of music is considered a prestigious school for music. The name of the school is based on one of the finest composer, pianist, and conductor that ever lived. There is no surprise that the school will want to make a mark in this world. As a result, they have published some of the reasons why the parents should opt for Mozart school when it comes to enrolling their kid for music on their website.

The first and for most reason the school has no constraint when it comes to age, ability, caste, which are present in other schools. The school considers this their basic rule when it comes to welcoming kids in their institution. Though this may sound to be fair, there are certain cases that may prove this to be problematic for the parents as well as the children. One case would be if kids of all age groups are enrolled, there is a possibility of some kids to be neglected, if the staff number falls short. For this reason, many parents would like to put their kid where they know they are being personally attended to.

Another problem could be that with the admission of all kinds of student, many are vulnerable to be bullied, as there can be some people who dislike the area or caste they represent. This will also cause parents to think twice before sending their child to a place he can be prone to abuse. As for the admission of kids of all kinds of ability, there is a risk of a certain kind of child who is different from others to be pushed and abused and bullied too. This can even cause some teachers to be partial towards them which other children would resent. The first reason itself has few flaws which the parents should consider before believing it.

With no audition brings the problem of enrolling kids who may never be able to learn music and will have disappointed etched in their hearts from a very young age. Often, parents are so eager to make their child learn and be involved in music that they ignore or turn a blind eye to the fact that their kid is not even remotely interested and is simply forced to join. With audition, there is a chance for the teachers to see the passion behind the child’s eye when it comes to music.

The second claim by the school is that they offer instructions for almost all kinds of instruments and genres and styles. Ranging from classical to rock music, almost all is covered. However, there is no mention if the student will be given a choice to choose the instrument and the genre he want to learn, or will he have to learn everything that the school can offer. This raises the question of whether the student will be able to excel in one type of genre, as many famous musicians are. Though many reputed musicians can play more than one instrument, they are always famous for their specific talent. Will the child be able to find his if he is made to learn all the instruments and styles? This question requires an answer from the parents who put it forth.

Moreover, the school tells us that they have recruited the most distinguished musicians in the area. For people who are from a different state or town, there is no mention of the type of music the musicians in the area excelled in. There is a possibility of the area being famous for rock music as many of the famous rock musicians reside there, which makes one wonder how the school claims to teach almost all kinds of styles, if the majority of the musicians in the area are from rock music. It could be because the school wants to make their position as one of the most versatile music school, they made those claims.

The final promise and the most important one is that many of the Mozart school’s graduates have become renowned and are high earning. As the school has enrolled everyone who came to them for admission gives us an estimate of the number of students there really are and there is no certainty what the school means by many graduates becoming successful. It could be that out of 1000 students 50 become renowned, but what about the rest? There is no mention of other students who do not become successful. Are they at least settled well? Or have they got a job in some music school as an instructor?

These claims by the school raises plenty of question, which though are obscure, are really important for the parents because there is no knowing the amount of money the school will charge from them after making those high claims. It is in the best interest of the school and the parents to know every aspect of the promises and then choose and make the right choice for their child.