“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in

which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement that all the students in a nation should study the same curriculum, that is, the same course until they enter college may seem fair for everyone until it is looked into deeply. I do not refute the fact that having the same subjects and courses for every student will not be a good thing but it has some deficiencies also. Many things are to be considered before accepting this statement.

For instance, if all the students are studying the courses with the same difficulty level, then there is no growth for children who want to prepare themselves for a very tough competitive exam. It is not certain what subjects the universal course will include and how fundamentally they are oriented. For some college entrance exam, they look for fundamental skills while some look for much harder skills, which may not be present in the national syllabus.

Conversely, a national curriculum could include the study of different styles of art, like music, painting, which were not present before. This would help every child in the country to know at least the basics of these studies, even if they are not inclined to it in the future. The nation can then hold a place in the world with the most number of talented students in the world. Its drawback could be that many of the students who have no interest in arts are forced to study it, while they are missing out on their personal interest. For example, a student who has always dreamed of being in the national football team gets no time to invest in the sport because he has to prepare for the school skits and plays. He would want nothing more than to enroll himself in a school which gives him a more sports-oriented curriculum.

Stating that every student must study the same course puts a big problem on the parents of children who have a certain learning disability. While there is still a chance for students who have no disability to study the same instilled courses in their school, the same could not be said for the rest. The remaining students need other means of courses which can help them study and learn things in a different but efficient way, which would not the case if every child was made to study the same things. For example, the method to teach a blind and deaf child would most definitely be different than teaching a child who can see and hear. This example clearly calls for a change in the curriculum for different schools.

It may be true that all the children need to study the same syllabus before they get into college, it is however not true that the curriculum in every school should be the same. Basic subjects like maths, science, history, and language are important and necessary for each student to know, it is not beneficial for all the students to be deprived of their other interests. So for that, there is a need for schools that have different curriculums which can help the children of the nation to be associated with what they like and not be forced to study what they have no passion and interest to pursue in the future.