Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Law and Order is shaped so as to ensure the proper functioning of the society. Thousands of staff is working behind to make a crime-free nation possible. Every crime has a law enacted for it and the penalty for the same. Stringent laws help in producing fear among the general public from doing any misdeed. Fear from punishment is what keeps people in check and there is no knowing what they may do if the rules were to be made flexible.

In some nations, the laws are so strict that it causes a sense of contempt in the people in that country. For instance, if a state were to give twenty year prison sentence to someone who stole bread from a shop, it is bound to cause resentment among the people. A state law should take into consideration the people it resides, the work they do and the background they come from. If a nation is very poor and its rich are just living for themselves, the poor may have no option but to steal food in order to survive. But a lax law system will not guarantee the safeguard of the poor because it can give rise to a dozen more crimes.

Moreover, the increased crime rates will not only instil fear in the hearts of its residents but to the people in the other countries. They may fear coming to a place after hearing that some of their fellow natives were mugged while travelling. If a nation’s economy is dependent on tourism and the laws in that place are not strict, the increase in crime rates will dampen the flow of tourists in the country which is not desirable. Safety comes first for anyone, anywhere, and the judicial system is responsible to ensure that.

Although, a stringent law system may seem like a prison to some, it is better than walking the streets with fear, or sleeping in fear of someone breaking and entering their house at night. People don’t like to be controlled, but if they are not confined within the scope of laws and rule, they are unstoppable and will do anything to get what they want. This fixation to get everything their heart desire, is what leads to crimes and they can only be reduced by producing fear of punishment in them which is only possible by tough, strict and unbreakable laws which have no space for loopholes.