It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We meet different people in our walk of life. Some bring out the best in us while others bring the worst. It is on us to find the people we want to be a part of and how it will help us in defining and shaping ourselves. Even if a person thinks he does not need someone to survive, that can never be the case. We, as humans, have always tried to be around our kind, right from the very start of life. It is important to find the kind of people you want to be like.

Our social group includes the people we took instant liking towards; there is no constraint when it comes to age. For every place, there is a different circle we are associated to or mutually related to. If there is a group of kids in college that are famous for causing troubles has an innocent friend with them, though he did not do anything, he is also considered to be like the majority of the people in his group. One day, if few of his friends were caught stealing from someone’s locker while others were able to run from the scene, all of them will be caught and questioned because they hung out together every day. Unknowingly or may be unintentionally he is also considered a bad guy which has hampered his reputation.

Although we tend to defend ourselves when someone tells us we are acting like one of our friends, it is true that we inhibit some of their vices, even if we never wanted to. To become a good and successful human being, it is important to be around who share the same thoughts because they will help in cultivating your dreams. Often, our parents stop us from being around certain kind of people and we don’t really understand why, but there is always a possibility of absorbing their traits which will never help us in our future.

Moreover, we inculcate the habits of the people in our social group. For instance, if there is a drug addict in the group, chances are high that others will become too even if they once hated that habit. Troublemakers who don’t care about anyone other than themselves are dangerous too. We never know when their trouble will cross certain limit and they may pass the blame and punishment to us. All this tells us to keep our eyes and ears and mind wide open when we involve ourselves in a certain group, so as to save us from a future catastrophe.

Our social circle primarily defines our character and behaviour, which if once ossified can be nearly impossible to change. A good amount of observation is required before calling yourself one of their kinds, because it could be difficult to detach yourself from them emotionally and mentally. Therefore, for a person to be regarded as someone with a good heart and mind, it is necessary for him to choose the best type of people in his social are.