The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Tourism is a big factor when it comes to the growth of any economy. Some places inherently attract tourists and local people, while others spend millions of dollars in building artificial beauty. However, there is not much of guarantee that the artificially produced beauty will be appreciated by many people. There are many cases of towns that have spent more than half their economy in trying to entice tourists, and have succeeded too. One such case is of the town of Ocean view, mentioned in the memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell, which is near Ocean view.

Hopewell is facing a decline in their economy and is desperately seeking measures to raise their revenue. Their analysts come across the business strategies of Ocean view, which they noticed increased their profits by simply increasing their tourism. Just two years back, Ocean view had built a new municipal golf course which Hopewell seems to think is the reason behind their increased economic growth. Along with golf courses, they have build resorts which seem to have grown their business openings. The analysts believe this is the reason behind the town’s prosperity and suggested the mayor to take the same initiative.

Although it sounds that this idea cannot be challenged, there are a few things that have to be scrutinized. First and for most, there is a big possibility that the idea of building resorts could be due to the fact that, as the name suggest, Ocean view could really have an Ocean surrounding it, giving them the benefit of popping up resorts with a good landscape. There is no mention of the type of place Hopewell town is and hence there is no guarantee that the idea of resorts will prove to be successful there. Even if the town did have scenic beauty, it prompts the question of why the town of Hopewell never thought of building resorts before coming across the development in Ocean view.

Moreover, the strategy of golf course in Ocean view does not tell us about the type of people that live in the town. It could be that the people residing there always wanted a golf course and when they were asked to suggest activities that they would like to engage themselves with, they suggested golf because of a plain landscape. Hopewell never mentions taking a survey to ask its people whether they want the golf course to be created or not. Hopewell, in its pace to imitate Ocean view, can be ignoring many facts. One such could be that the landscape of Hopewell is not plain, but mountainous and building golf course would result in cutting down forests or relocating the people living in its path.

In addition to this, there is no clear indication to the people about the time of economy Ocean view had before they took up the task of increasing their tourism. What if Ocean view had a strong economy which they wanted to strengthen further by promoting itself by increasing its landmarks? As it is a municipal golf course, the fee for it will be very less or even zero which clearly tells that the town budget will pay for it. This can give us a reason to believe that the Ocean view’s economy is not in a bad state. There is a strong doubt that Hopewell’s economy is not stable enough as was Ocean view’s, which will cause opposite effects to what is required. In order to increase tourism, Hopewell may increase the levy on goods or increase the tax of the basic supplements which can cause a sense of resentment among its people.

Before the initiative for the development of golf course and resort passes, the mayor should answer all of the concerns regarding it, without batting a blind eye to it. This will not only cause opposition from the people but also prove damaging for the townies and the mayor too.