The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for he

On first glance the memo to the board of director of the company appears to be relevant. It states that as the climate forecasts are predicting comparatively cold weathers for the next few years, the demand of their heating oil would increase. In addition to that the memo also states that the number of residential building in the north eastern part of united states are increasing which opines the increase demands of the heating oil. But on closer analysis it appears that some questions are required to be asked to prove that whether the facts which are provided in the memo would really lead to increase in the demands of the heating oil of the company.

First thing that is important to ask is whether the new residential houses which are being constructed in the north eastern part of united states would be using oil heaters or some other modern heaters. Since it is clearly stated that the oil heating is a traditional heating method. The new houses which are being constructed may use electric heating methods or solar heating methods as they are more modern than the oil heating method which is 'traditional'. So this fact weakens the conclusion that is predicted in the memo that the demand would be increasing in the next five years.

In addition to that it can also be questioned that what was the drop in temperature below the normal temperature? as the author of the memo is asserting. Because if the drop in temperature below the normal temperature is infinitesimally negligible then the people would not require to heat their houses and so the demand of the heating oil would be less. This weakens the author's conclusion that the demands would increase. On the other hand if the temperature of the place drops by a high value below the normal temperature the demand of the oil would increase. This strengthens the author's conclusions.

Furthermore, the author states that the climate forecasts have predicted such trends of below normal temperature for several years. It is not clear that for how much that trend would be followed, on the other hand the author is predicting that demands would be increasing for the next 'five years'. This appears to be a statement without any evidence.While on the other hand with the passage of years more people would be using modern methods of heating rather than traditional method. This evidence also undermines the author's conclusion which is based on the weather forecasts.

To conclude, certain questions are asked about and answers follow them. If these information would be provided such as ambiguity in stating the number of years, stating the method traditional and properly stating the temperature. Then i think then the memo would have appeared more succinct.