When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity:

The argument posited above deals with two public parks Stanley park and the Carlton park. It is described in the argument that Stanley park attracted more people when it was opened but then even being large more people are attracted towards carlton park. The reason for this change in trends have been given by the arguer but some of them are not justifiable directly such as Stanley park is located in a town, while the Carlton park is located in the heart of the business district. In addition to that It is not possible to judge the number of people visiting the park just by checking the video footages from the cameras which are park's parking lot. Further the argument states that the difference in the number of seating between the two parks attract the visitors, but it cannot neceassarily the reason behind decrease in the number of visitors in the Stanley park.

It is possible that when the Stanley park was opened it was the only park between the town and the district, so people got more attracted toward the park. It has been stated in the argument that stanley park is located in the town while carlton park is located in the heart of the city. It can be assumed that number of people residing in the town is less than the number residing in the business district. So when the carlton park was opened in the district, more people visited it as it being nearby than the stanley park.Thus this assumption weakens the argument that number of benches is having any relation with the number of visitors.

In addition to that, it has been argued for the stanley park that the decrease in the visitors were registered on the basis of camera footages from the cameras mounted in the parking lot . It is necessary to assume that every visitor would not be travelling to the park in the car. So less number of cars parked in the parking lot does not clearly depict the decrease in the number of people visiting the stanley park.

Further, it is imoportant to note that it is not necessary that the difference in the number of benches in the two park is the sole reason of difference in the number of visitors in the two parks. It can be assumed that the carlton park might have other facilities that the stanley park would'nt have. This might also lead to a decrease in the number of people visiting the stanley park.

Finally, From the assumptions disccussed aboe it is not relevant to say that the only reason the stanley park could attract more visitors is by increasin the number of seating places. On the other hand it is important to note that the arguer has stated the cameras as the only source for reasoning for registering the number of visitors in the stanley park. So it is important to use other source to account for the exact number of people in the stanley park.

To sum up, these are the assumptions which the arguer should keep the hole of to make his/her argument more cogent.