When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

The author in the argument concludes that the availability of seating in the Carlton park is the reason of its popularity in comparison to seating availability in Stanley Park. The author bolsters the conclusion by mentioning the average number of cars parked in the parking lots from the parking lots recording. And finally concludes that if the Stanley park want to attract more people then it should use the open space to create more sitting areas. The argument seems compelling at first look, but reading it again displays many loop holes and gaps between the conclusion and proofs. The argument is very evidently the result of hasty generalization.

Firstly, the author mentions that the Stanley park attracted a lot of people when it was opened and after some time the rush of people decreased. It can be the case that people were attracted to see the largest park and in the beginning it got more attention than any other park. And so after some period the park lost attention of the people. With this as the reason constructing the benches in the open space would be waste of time and money. And also in turn the people who loved the open space environment would also get affected by this.

Secondly, the author here has mentioned about the average number of car of last month in the parking lot. But the author here has not mentioned with what other data/statistics it was compared. It can be the case that the average number of cars last month were not the lowest. The author here needs to mentions the data with which the comparison is done. And continuing with this it can also be like the people coming to Stanley park would prefer to use two wheeler or by walking. So this scenario is not counted anywhere in the passage.

And the author here has compared the Stanley park with Carlton park. But the author has not mentioned the other background information of Carlton Park. It can be the case that Carlton park is famous for its surrounding or it attracts more people because of its location; heart of the business district. The author need to provide the detailed information about the Carlton Park.

The argument is the result of hasty speculation in which the author has assumed considerable amount of data, first about the popularity and second about the average number of cars. Had the author taken the above discussed factors into view, it would have rendered the argument irrefutable. But whatever is presented fails to provide the holistic picture to the suprefluous claims being made.